Log in



PhD-Workshop and Keynote: Austrian Environmental History

  • April 20, 2021
  • 9:00 AM (EDT)

We invite you to join the "environmental" part of our annual PhD-workshop on economic, social and environmental history, which is organized by the University of Salzburg in cooperation with the "Austrian Economic and Social Historians (AESH)", the "Environmental History Cluster Austria (www.ehca.at)" and the "European Society for Environmental History (ESEH)".

Firstly, two papers will be presented and discussed by peers and the audience: Starting at 3 pm CET (9 am EST): Alwin Cubasch (Innsbruck): "From Space to Home: NASA's spin-off projects to establish space food on American dining tables in the 1970s" (comment: Verena Winiwarter)

Starting at 4 pm CET (10 am EST): Petra Machold (Vienna): "Colonial sugar production in the periphery of Quito, Ecuador in the late 18th century" (comment: Christiane Berth)

Finally, starting at 5:30 pm CET (11:30 am EST), we welcome you to attend our keynote on "The place of gender in contemporary Austrian and European environmental history", which will be delivered by Anna-Katharina Wöbse (Giessen), who is a renowned/experienced environmental historian and curator, with research interests including environmental movements and environmental biographies, animal-human relations, as well as women and gender.

If you are interested in attending the online paper-presentation and/or the keynote, please give a short note to georg.stoeger@sbg.ac.at.



©
 ASEH 2020 Copyright Reserved

American Society for Environmental History

UIC Department of History - MC 198

601 S. Morgan St.

Chicago, IL  60607-7109