Upcoming events

Log in
Log in

Apply for ASEH Prizes, Awards, and Fellowships

September 01, 2021 6:00 AM | Anonymous member (Administrator)

It's that time of year. ASEH is accepting applications for research fellowships, and submissions and nominations for prizes and awards.

All deadlines are November 20, 2021, so apply now!


Each year, the ASEH awards five prizes for outstanding scholarship in the field of environmental history. The instructions for submitting your work for consideration for each prize are listed below.

George Perkins Marsh Prize for best book in environmental history

Alice Hamilton Prize for best article outside journal Environmental History 

Leopold-Hidy Prize for best article in journal Environmental History (with Forest History Society)

Rachel Carson Prize for best dissertation in environmental history

ASEH-FHS Graduate Student Essay Prize 


The ASEH currently offers four research fellowships: the Hal Rothman Dissertation Fellowship, the J. Donald Hughes Graduate Research Fellowship, the Equity Graduate Student Fellowship, and the Samuel P. Hays Fellowship.

The Rothman, Hughes, and Equity Fellowships are reserved for graduate students; the Hays Fellowship is open to practicing historians of any rank.

In addition, the ASEH co-sponsors the ASEH–Newberry Library Fellowship for scholars who will work with the Newberry's extensive holdings in Chicago.


ASEH will also award its annual Distinguished Scholar Award and Lisa Mighetto Distinguished Service Award, along with the Public Outreach Project Award.

 ASEH 2023 Copyright Reserved

American Society for Environmental History

UIC Department of History - MC 198

601 S. Morgan St.

Chicago, IL  60607-7109