Upcoming events

Log in
Log in

ASEH Prizes, Fellowships, and Awards - Apply Now!

September 01, 2023 10:10 AM | Anonymous member (Administrator)


ASEH is now accepting applications for research fellowships, and submissions and nominations for prizes and awards. Click on the links below for more information and instructions about how to apply and submit nominations.

All deadlines are November 20, 2023.


Each year, ASEH awards five prizes for outstanding scholarship in the field of environmental history. Please read the instructions for submitting your work for consideration for each prize listed below.

George Perkins Marsh Prize for best book in environmental history

Alice Hamilton Prize for best article outside journal Environmental History 

Leopold-Hidy Prize for best article in journal Environmental History (with Forest History Society)

Rachel Carson Prize for best dissertation in environmental history

ASEH-FHS Graduate Student Essay Prize 


The ASEH currently offers four research fellowships: the Hal Rothman Dissertation Fellowship, the J. Donald Hughes Graduate Research Fellowship, the Equity Graduate Student Fellowship, and the Samuel P. Hays Fellowship.

The Rothman, Hughes, and Equity Fellowships are reserved for graduate students; the Hays Fellowship is open to all non-student practicing historians.

In addition, the ASEH co-sponsors the ASEH–Newberry Library Fellowship for scholars who will work with the Newberry's extensive holdings in Chicago.


ASEH will also award its annual Distinguished Scholar Award and Lisa Mighetto Distinguished Service Award, along with the Public Outreach Project Award. 

You can nominate candidates for these awards here.

 ASEH 2023 Copyright Reserved

American Society for Environmental History

UIC Department of History - MC 198

601 S. Morgan St.

Chicago, IL  60607-7109